My Experience operating Macbook Pro M1

Rizky Ramadhan
3 min readAug 15, 2021

Hi mediumers, welcome back to my story and glad to see u.

In this article I wanna tell u about my experience in using Macbook Pro M1.

> First, I wanna introduce my self that i work as devops engineer, I always research about devops tooling in my laptop.

> second, at 2 August 2021 I get laptop from my company with branch Macbook Pro M1.

> Third, I try to setup my research environment in this macbook consists of:

  • Virtualization, I try to install virtualbox in macbook pro m1 successfully, but when i try create one VM, i get error because it’s not supported for virtualization on ARM Architecture or Silicon Valley Chip Processor.
  • Containerization, I try to install Docker Desktop and successfully to run some container, no problem with this.
  • Service Mesh, i try to setup service mesh with istioctl but i get error when it creates ingress object on kubernetes Docker. It has limitation about networking setting in macbook pro m1.
  • Configuration Management, I try to install ansible then successfully, but I don’t know, how should i do if i can’t run VM.
  • Provisioner, I try to install Vagrant Hashicorp locally, but i still don’t know how can i integrate with Virtualbox, beside Macbook pro m1 couldn’t virtualization.

I think it’s about cons on macbook pro m1.

> fourth, my daily job is create handling infrastructure in PT Amartha Mikro Fintek, I started working at 09:00am-06:00pm with my macbook pro m1.

but it has some prons:

  • the battery usage is cool enough for me, because macbook pro has good power management, so i can work for long hours with 1 till 2 charging in a day.
  • Good design for physical laptop, because it has good keyboard, display, color, and ideal size laptop.
  • good speaker in listening music, because so far i use previous laptop, i think macbook pro m1 has the best sound.

so the conclusion from me are:

  • I couldn’t research about devops tooling locally how to integrate between virtualization, containerization, service mesh, configuration management, and provisioner.
  • recommended for working in long hours for daily.
  • if u are focus on containerization apps, you’are still good in operating docker.

--

--